How do you read novels?

I have a couple of friends who, when they start a novel or trilogy or series, MUST finish. One of them had to read all of Twilight. (Sorry for those who liked the books.) He hated the way she wrote. He hated the characters. He hated the storyline. But he absolutely had to finish the entire trilogy.

I told him the same author had a new series out. He didn’t want to know about it or check the books out because if he started he’d have to finish and he really didn’t want to go through that again.

I don’t understand. If I begin a book and I don’t like it or don’t care what happens to the characters, I stop reading. I don’t care if I’m 2/3rds the way through. I just stop and find something else.

There are so many good and fun books out there. Why suffer through something I hate? I’d rather reread something I loved.

How do you read? Do you have to finish what you start or do you move on to something you like better?

