Weekly Writing Challenge: A Picture Is Worth 1,000 Words

dp-writing-challenge-photo-2This is a  writing challenge from WordPress. Here is the link: Weekly Writing Challenge: A Picture Is Worth 1,000 Word

This is the only photo I have of Dad, Mike and me. Mom took the picture. She was always the one with the camera.

I don’t like the picture. It’s too stark.

It doesn’t show Dad chasing us around the yard, the piggyback rides, the hugs and kisses, the unexpected gifts, or the love.

That’s what I remember most, the love. Not when Mom was sick in the hospital, or when Dad was out of work, or when the fire took everything, but this photo.

Mom made us breakfast every morning; we never had cereal.

We ate dinner together every night and shared our day.

Mom and Dad took turns coming into my bedroom, and into Mike’s, to tuck us in and kiss us goodnight.

I’m the only one left. Me and this photograph.

Don’t be sad. I remember the love.

