I Like Blogging

In my VBA Award post, I wrote how I like writing this blog. I’ve been thinking about it. I find I like writing this blog more than I like working on my novel.

There is a faster response time with the blog, with hits, likes and comments.  There are other blogs to read and leave comments.

The particular novel I’m presently working on has been around for years. I’ve forgotten how many times I’ve rewritten it, or how many times it’s sat on the shelve waiting for me to get back to it.

I think this is the best rewrite so far. I hope I’m getting close to the final rewrite.

If I had my preference, I’d forget the novel and only work on this blog.

It would help if I could make a living at it. Then I could work fewer days and have time to work on the novel.

I say work less, because, I live alone.  Yes, I have friends, but I don’t do well being at home by myself for days on end. I’m one of those people who like to have reason to get up and go to work. Besides I like my job.

I’m also sure I’m not the only one who feels like this. Bet most of you out there would love to make a living at your creative endeavor.

We all have our moments of frustration. Wonder if we should keep going or just give it up and do something more sensible.

But we don’t quit. We can’t. There is something in us that will not let go or give up.

That’s good because we’d go crazy if we didn’t create. We’d become sour and out of sorts.

That’s what blogging is all about. We can be ourselves whether anyone is reading or not. It’s more fun when someone is reading and telling us how much they like what we’re doing.

And when we do get discouraged, we have blog friends who understand and encourage us.

That’s why writing this blog and reading other blogs is so much fun. Even if I never finish the novel, this blog will still be here and I’ll still be reading blogs, leaving likes and comments.

Once I’m finished with the post, I’ll have to buckle down and work on the novel.

After I write a few more posts. ;0)

