Blogs & Novels

I’ve been away from reading blogs and not just because I’ve been on vacation.

After I wrote “I Like Blogging” I realized I was spending more time with my blog and not enough time with my novel. I think I might have been using this blog as an excuse to avoid working on the novel. It’s not that I didn’t want to work on it, but for some reason, I wasn’t as interested in it as in the blog.

It might be because novels take so long to write. There is something fulling about finishing and publishing a novel that I’ve not known as of yet. There is a quicker response with a blog. I write and there is evidence that someone has read it, either from the blog stats or someone hits like or leaves a comment.

It’s also fun to read other blogs, hit I like and leave comments.

I decided I had to take a break from my blog and get back to working on my novel.

First, I cleared my head of all blog ideas. I wrote everything down and predated the postings. I stopped reading novels and blogs, both inspire postings, and consecrated on my novel. I didn’t even listen to the radio in the car. No Hulu and very little TV.

The first morning of quiet, my brain jumped back to the story line and started filling in scenes that needed filling out. I actually got some work done, but it was tempting to read your blogs. I missed knowing what was going on.

I took a chunk of hard copy of my novel with me to edit while in route to my brother & sister-in-law’s home. I read through all of it and made editing changes in the computer as soon as I got back.

Now that I’m caught up on my novel, I’m back to reading blogs and catching up with your world. I won’t be able to read everything I missed, but I will make a serious dent. And I have many new post ideas.

See you in print.

***

We were on the hunt for otters, but we only saw them in the distance. We did find sea lions and seals.

The over crowded napping wharf.

They howl. They bark. They sneeze. And according to my brother, they smell. But most importantly, they are fun to watch.

My new Desktop Wallpaper

