Constructive Criticism

I went to college for Fine Arts, graduated in Graphics. I did a lot of drawing, painting and photography. Every week, along with the rest of the class, I had to hang a finished piece of art work on the wall for the whole class and teacher to view and critic. After many years, one becomes used to it and learns who knows what they are talking about and who doesn’t.

I’d have one teacher who absolutely loved one of my paintings. But another teacher would see the same painting and question my talents. I learned to walk the middle road. Each teacher had something worth listening to, and learning from, but I was not to place my hopes or hang my despair on either of them.

So when I started writing and handed a manuscript in to be criticed by the class, I was well prepared. There were those who read and understood science fiction and fantasy and gave good advice. But there was always someone who didn’t understand sf&s and gave bad advice. I learned to filter and not get discouraged.

Critic is a good way to to learn and grow, especially when several people say the same thing. It’s a sign to take notice. I take notice if even one person makes a comment that on one else seemed to notice. If that person knows what they are talking about, it’s important. I’ve learn a lot. I’m still learning.

When authors write something, we hope that it is well received, expectantly when we worked hard on it. And when it’s not, well, we can’t dwell on the disappointment. We must learn, move on, and do better.

I posted my prologue. But it was not well received. Good to know.

Not everyone reads the prologue. They start with the first chapter. I read every word.

Once the first chapter starts, the prologue seems not to be apart of the story, but as I keep reading, it make sense.

In my prologue, there is a fair amount that happens before the books starts, I thought to give a bit of history to bring people up to date.

The information is already in the story. But I am continually amazed that after I clearly stated something, I’m asked a question as if that bit of information was not in the story. I thought if I added the historical prologue up front people would be less likely to forget.

Not to worry, I’m not discouraged. In fact those who are reading the book didn’t complain. They did have other complains, which I have addressed.

I greatly appreciate the honest comments made about the prologue. No one was rude and no one said they hated it. It let me know there is still thought and work to do. I haven’t decided yet if I’ll completely drop it or try to rework it.

Next post will be Weekly Photo Challenge. The post after that will be the first chapter. That takes a little courage on my part, because if that is not well received, I’m cooked. Nevertheless, I need to know.

