Weekly Photo chanllenge: Thankful

I am thankful for my cousin Bonnie, though she would prefer I not post her picture.

I have four first cousins, in order of birth, Bonnie, Bob, me then Penny and John. We were close while growing up, but we slipped apart as we became adults. It never dawned on me to say bye when I left Louisiana for Texas. They didn’t come looking.

Over the years, I have thought of looking them up, but the girls got married, and I didn’t know their last names. In southern Louisiana, looking for Robert and John Bernard is like looking for John Smith. There’s way too many of them.

For as much as I now dislike facebook, I am also thankful for it.

Bonnie had the brilliant idea to look for me on Facebook. There are 500 Phyllis Moore. I was on the top of the second page.

To make a long story short, we traded phone numbers. I’ve gone to visit Penny who now lives in Arkansas and I’ve gone to Louisiana to visit the others.

We’re too far away to spend time quality together, but we do talk often on the phone. It’s been fun catching up with the past.

Penny and me. I’m the one in blue. We were going fishing on her three wheeler.

Crawfish dinner at John’s. Bob and Ann Marie are on the left. John and Stephanie are on the right. Bonnie was there, but I cut her out. Too bad. She’s one of those people who glows from the heart out to what one sees.

Sorry the photo is out of focus. This was before my new digital camera. If I had been thinking, I’d have bought it in time for the trip.

