Daily Prompt: The Clock

On Feb. 16 the Daily Prompt was: Write about anything you’d like. Somewhere in your post, include the sentence, “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.”

At the time, I couldn’t think of any thing, but today, this came to me.

I have a slight slant on the prompt sentence. Hope you don’t mind.

***

No Clocks

The buggy door slammed. I immediately looked at the clock and remembered. There are no clocks here.

This is my fault. I wanted to come and see what it was like to live without TV, social media, cell phones, and electricity.

These people get up with the sunrise and bed at sundown.

I go to the bathroom in a shed, over a hole, in the ground.

I bath in the river. If I want a hot bath, I have to haul the water (by myself) uphill, to the back of the house, and boil it over an open fire. Once hot, I pour the water in the outside tub. I do this one bucket at a time. When the tub is full, the water is just above luke warm.

My nails are broken.

My hair is ragged for the lack of a decent hair cut. There is no shampoo, conditioner, blow dryer, or hairspray.

I have three dresses, one for work, one for Sunday meeting, and one to wear while I wash the other two.

I know I’m to blame. I wanted to see how my ancestors lived. But I hadn’t planned on equipment failure or getting stuck here.

I miss social media.

I miss my family and friends.

I miss electricity!!!!

Damn time travel.

***

  1. A Smorgasbord of Visual Delights! « oh, this and that
  2. Daily Prompt: The Clock | The Wondering College Student
  3. Daily Prompt: The Clock | A Sign Of Life
  4. Exploring Ever After | Wiley’s Wisdom
  5. Daily Prompt: The Clock | ahmadjaenudinchef
  6. Daily Prompt: The Clock | kcm1976’s Blog
  7. Daily Prompt: The Clock « Moving Notion
  8. On the tick of a clock! | amateurxpress
  9. Daily prompt: The Clock | Artifacts and fictions
  10. Loose End, Part Two | Mike Sensitivity
  11. Clock watching « Tell Tale Therapy
  12. Daily Prompt: The Clock | bitofshine’s Blog
  13. In the afternoon « thelissachronicles
  14. The Clock – (150 Words or Less) | Sammy’s Moleskine
  15. The Clock | Drama Queen Under the Sun
  16. What is a Good Leader? « The Lurker’s List
  17. 17:2 | Daily Prompt: The Clock | Family Photos Food & Craft
