Friday Fiction: Misconception

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play.  Check out the link at the end of my story to see what other fictioneers did with this week’s prompt.

***

Misconception

“I don’t like it here.” lilies-lora-mitchell

“Why not?”

“Look out the window.”

“I see a little plant with pretty large yellow flowers.”

“Want to know what I see?”

“No.”

“Metal and more metal. Not grass or trees, no meadows or fields. Just one pathetic potted plant.”

“Why come?”

“You made me.”

He signed. He’d hoped it would be different, but as of late it was always the same.

“I don’t want to explore this place. I want to go home.”

Perhaps it would be best to leave her behind and come back with another partner.

“Are you sure?”

“Yes, I don’t like Earth. I want to go home.”

***

I do have a follow up on this Fiction Friday. It’s Fiction Friday: Misconception Continued.


