Fiction Friday: Hornet’s Net

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play.  Check out the link at the end of my story to see what other fictioneers did with this week’s prompt.

You can Find more of my Fiction Fridays under Categories.

This is pure fiction, my brother NEVER did this.

***

The Hornet’s Net

My brother found a hornet’s net under the steps leading into the house. That night Mom killed the hornets while they slept. She placed the nest in a glass jar, and tightly screwed the cap on.wasp-nest

We watched the jar daily until the eggs hatched.

The new hornets crawled out and waited until their wings were ready to fly, but they could go no farther than their glass prison.

Mom placed the jar in a plastic bag and placed the bag in the outside trash.

My little brother retrieved the jar, and left it opened in my room.

The brat.

 

