Friday Fiction: The Phone

“Man, you can’t take that phone out.”

“Have to. It’s my job.”

Copyright – Danny Bowman

Copyright – Danny Bowman

“You’re taking out a piece of history.”

“Look, kid, this gas station is abandoned. Everything is being torn down for some fancy store.”

“Another store? It’s not right. It’s the last payphone in the country.”

“So what?”

“What if Superman needs it?”

“He uses a phone booth. See any booths around here? I don’t.”
“What if Neil needs it.”

“Who?”

“Man, you know, to get back in the Matrix?”

“He’s not real. You’re the only superhero around here, kid. Are you using it?”

“Can’t.”

Why not?”

“It’s disconnected.”

The End

***

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play.

For this week’s fiction Friday, I wrote about one of my main characters, Jess Hewett, who is in my novel that will be published in 2014. I’m thinking of changing the title to The Colonists.

Click on Fiction Friday to read more of my 100 word flash fiction.


