Friday Fictioneer: Billy

sandra-crook-3

Photo by Sandra Cook
castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/

Billy was still in diapers when I took him to a Shakespeare Festival. It was Macbeth.

He sat on my lap and watched the play. I thought he’d fall asleep.

He didn’t.

At intermission, it was late. It had been along day. It was time to go home.

I turned to my friend and said so, “Let’s gather our things and go.”

Billy screamed his objections with the passion of a Shakespeare enthusiast.

Several people turned to see what was wrong.

“Well,” I said to my friend, “I guess we’re staying to the end.”

Billy stayed awake the entire time.

The End (True Story)

***

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play.

