Friday Fictionrees: Fairies

trespass_randy_mazie-1

Copyright -Randy Mazie

“Fairies like the pretty flowers,” Gramps said.

I was five, I believed.

Gramps left me his house with explicit directions to “take good care of the fairies. “

I was twenty-five, lived in the city, had a job. I was important. I was not going to babysit a vine full of flowers.

I drove back to sell the house. I didn’t bother to unpack. I left the takeout leftovers in the sink.

Next morning, all was unpacked and kitchen cleaned. I didn’t do it.

There were fairies among the flowers.

I moved back, found another job, and protect fairies.

The End

***

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play. Click on Friday Fictioneer to read more of my stories. Click on the blue face and read more of other people’s stories.

