Friday Fictioneer: Route 66

“Why do you have to drive?”

PHOTO PROMPT – © Copyright Jean L. Hays

PHOTO PROMPT – © Copyright Jean L. Hays

“Adventure. It’s one of the original highways in the U.S. Highway System.”

“I don’t understand.”

“It’s part of our American history. I’m going. You coming?”

“You drive. I’ll fly and we’ll met up at the airport.”

“Don’t bother, Walter.”

“Fine. I didn’t want to go anyway.”

“Why didn’t you just say so?”

“I didn’t want to hurt your feelings.”

“Right.”

Margay never saw Walter again. It took three years to drive Rt. 66, all 2,448 miles (3,940 km). When she did finally arrive, she was married and pregnant with the first of five children.

The End

1024px-Map_of_US_66

Driving Route 66 is on my bucket list of things to do and places to go.

The path is still there, but parts of the original highway has been modernized to better handle local traffic.

***

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play.

Click on Friday Fictioneer to read more of my stories.

You can follow this blog on my FB page: Phyllis Moore’s Myth’s

Click on the blue face and read more of other people’s stories.

