Friday Fictioneer: The Grapevine

PHOTO PROMPT -© Dawn Q. Landau

PHOTO PROMPT -© Dawn Q. Landau

My life depended on her advice. I couldn’t travel 72 miles southeast, nor send a message for fear of spies.

Instead I walked the rails northwest to cross paths with the paddler.

We spoke casually. I dare not say more, he keeps no secretes.

The peddler does not travel in a straight line, but by the needs of those who buy his goods.

He stopped to water his horse and told William we had spoken; William told Shawn as he delivered gain; Shawn told Rose the seamstress; she told Khalid.

Khalid told his sister.

My friend arrived by morning train.

The End

***

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play.

Click on Friday Fictioneer to read more of my stories.

You can follow this blog on my FB page: Phyllis Moore’s Myth’s

Click on the blue face and read more of other people’s stories.

***

CT001-PegasusColony-PhyllisMoorenewMy science fiction novel, Pegasus Colony, is now available on Amazon.

Click on Moore’s Myths to learn about Pegasus Colony in greater detail.

