Mondays Finish the Story: Pizza

Mondays Finish the Story is a flash fiction challenge where we provide you with a new photo each week, and the first sentence of a story.

This week’s sentence is:

“Pizza, anyone?”

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

“I don’t like onions. I don’t like mushrooms. I don’t like bell peppers.” My five year old cried large crocodile tears.

Now his grandmother who had spent all afternoon making the pizza from scratch was in tears.

He’d been acting up all every since it had started raining and we couldn’t go to the Zoo. He refused to be happy about anything else.

Short of strangling him, I said, “Fine. Then don’t eat. Go in the living room and play. “

He stomped off. We ate.

Mist all the laughter and before the second pizza was half eaten. He reappeared. We ignored him and kept talking.

He stepped up to the table. We ignored him.

He climbed on the only empty chair and onto his child’s seat. We ignored him.

At a moment when the conversation and laughter settle enough for him to be heard, he said, “It stopped raining.”

The End.

***

You can read more of my stories by clicking on Short Stories.

CT001-PegasusColony-PhyllisMoorenew

My science fiction novel, Pegasus Colony, is available on Amazon.

E-books are available on Barns & Noble, Apple ibooks, and Amazon Kindle Books.

 

