Sunday Photo Fiction: The Pet

“No you can’t keep him. What are you thinking?” Momma can be so irrational sometimes.

“But he’s so cute,” I pleaded.

“No!”  the-effigy-photo-by-alastair-forbes

“And he’s so little, he won’t eat much. You’ll hardly notice he’s here.”

“There’s that awful smell.” Momma sneezed. “I’m already feeling the affect of him being here.” She didn’t really have allergies. She just pretended.

I wasn’t giving in. I was keeping him.

“Your father will him eat,” she warned.

“Eeek. I hadn’t considered that.” I suddenly understood the threat. “I’ll return him to the forest.”

Mom shook her head in dismay. “I human for a pet.”

The End

***

Click to Read Other Stories.

This prompt was inspired by Sunday Photo Fiction. Every week on a Sunday, a new photo is used as a prompt for Flash Fiction challenge using around 200 words based on that image.

Click on Short Stories to read more of my stories.

