Kev’s Great Indie Authors

Kevin Cooper used to host Kev’s Great Indie Authors where he interviews authors who have self-published. He also reviews books and posts an author of the month; he offers a proof reading service and is an indie author himself.

It’s interesting to read about authors, get to know them a little bit and learn about their books.

On May 1, Kevin interview me and I got a good response. As a thank you, I thought I’d interview him and tell others about his blog.

Here is Kevin Cooper:

111

First of all, tell us a little about yourself.

I was born in Hull, England and currently reside there again after spending 19 plus years in the US.

I live with my wife, Pat and two wonderful little furry purry boys. I’m an author and amateur musician.

I love to travel, go to the theater, the cinema, museums, libraries, eat out, visit new places, the list goes on…

What inspired you to prompt Independent authors?

I’m an indie author myself, so I know how challenging it can be to market one’s material so I help others in what small way I can.

Tells us about your questions? Are they the original questions that you started with or have they evolved over time?

They are not the original questions. They have indeed evolved. I try to stay with the current issues surrounding writing, editing, publishing, marketing, and so on. I ask the questions I do so that other authors can get ideas and gain insight from each other.

What comes easy for one author, could prove to be a real obstacle to another and they can learn from each other.

How long have you been blogging? Has your subject matter always been the same?

I’ve only been blogging for three years. I learned much in that time. I started out by just posting a few of my poems and as I began publishing, my blog developed. I will say at this point that if it wasn’t for the wonderful wordpress community that I was lucky enough to become a part of, I don’t know where I would be now. I owe them so much for all their encouragement and support and this is the main reason I started Kev’s Author Interviews. To give a little back for all the support they gave me when I first started out. All the rest of Kev’s Great Indie Authors developed from that.

Your blog followers are over 6,000 strong and your blog viewers are over 50,000. What’s your secret to such high numbers?

I know it’s crazy, isn’t it?! I get new followers every day. I don’t have any secret formula or do anything out of the ordinary, sorry folks. However, I will say this, when someone visits my blog, likes one of my posts, comments, reblogs, tweets, you name it. I always pay forward. Now, I may not be able to do it the same day or even for a few days, but I make a conscious effort and do eventually get round to it.

I sometimes spend a whole day or weekend, just responding to likes, comments, and reblogs etc. to catch up, but I enjoy it, thoroughly.

What’s the future for your blog? Will it be the same as is or do you some surprises for the future?

Now you’re asking! Don’t forget, I’m a writer. I’ve always got things spinning around in my head and I’m sure other writers will agree, you won’t know until it’s done. 😉 Hell, I won’t know until it’s done! 😀

Tell us about your writing habits, your social media and novel writing.

I try not to plan. The more I plan, the less I get done and I never end up doing what I planned to do anyway.

For example, I didn’t plan on doing this interview today. I started out doing something different, then while looking for something in my doc files, I came across this interview and decided to do it instead. That’s how I work. So you see, I could be in the middle of something and get distracted by something else. I can’t even remember what it was I was looking for now… it’ll come back.

That’s why I love cats so much. I understand them completely. 😀

 One last note:

Thanks for this wonderful opportunity. It was quite challenging. I much prefer to ask the questions for someone else to answer. 😉   kev.

 Since the writing of this blog, Kevin Cooper has closed down the above blogs. He is now concentrating on his writing & music at KC Books & Music.

Here are Kevin Cooper’s contact information and his blogs addresses.

 Kevin Cooper

twitter.com/@kcbooksnmusic
kevcooper@kevcooper.karoo.co.uk

 

 

 

