SUNDAY PHOTO FICTION: Lost and Found

I went to the beach to contemplate. Contemplate what, I don’t know. As far as I could tell there wasn’t 107-05-may-31st-2015much of my life to contemplate.
I was a widow. My children were grown, no grandchildren and I was recently retired. Everything was behind me; Nothing ahead of me.
A man came, about my age, he seemed peasant enough.
“Find morning to fish,” he said.
I nodded slightly, but looked away.
“Do you fish?”
Still looking away, I shook my head one once.
He didn’t take the hit, but sat next to me and preceded to talk about fishing. I’m not sure what happened next. Perhaps I was too tired to be rude.
I remember standing in the water, with my sandals off, my pant legs rolled up, casting the fishing line. That night we joined his friends for dancing.
They’re like me, retired with little to do, but have fun.Two nights later we all went out to dinner. Sunday afternoon, we’re hiking in the mountains.
I realized, I was a little lost and just needed a friend to find me.

The End

***

This photo prompt was inspired by Sunday Photo Fiction. Every week on a Sunday, a new photo is posted as a prompt for a Flash Fiction challenge using around 200 words based on that image.

Click on Short Stories to read more of my stories.

***

Pegasus

 I’m a science fiction author. I’ve just published my first novel about life in Earth’s galactic colony in the Pegasus Constellation. 

Click on Moore’s Myths to learn about Pegasus Colony in greater detail.

Pegasus Colony, is available on Amazon, Barns & Noble, and iBooks.

 

