Friday Fictioneer: New

So that’s what a clean kitchen looks like. No lingering orange juice glass. No leftover dinner dish with

PHOTO PROMPT -© Raina Ng

PHOTO PROMPT -© Raina Ng

crusted spaghetti sauce. No crumbs on the floor or rice cornels on the stove. All cabinet doors closed. Counters are not discoloration. No coffee rings. The floor is mopped and waxed. No muddy boot prints.

Yeah, wait see what it looks like in a week after the two of us and five boys move in.

The End

***

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play.

Click on Short Stories to read more of my stories.

Click on the Blue Box to read other boggers’ Friday Fictioneers’ stories.

***

Pegasus

 

Click on Moore’s Myths to learn about Pegasus Colony in greater detail.

My science fiction novel, Pegasus Colony, is available on Amazon, Barns & Noble, and iBooks.

30 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer: New

  1. lol…I too once had a clean kitchen ..the day we moved in…Haven’t been the same since. Nice one.

  2. As long as the food is wholesome and tasty, who cares. Nicely done.
    (Apart from what appears to be a couple of typos – discoloration, moped.)

  3. Pingback: I Am Versatile? | fredtotherick

  4. My kitchen has never been that clean but I love that story!

  5. The omens are not good for the kitchen 😛

  6. My kitchen didn’t exactly look pristine shortly after I moved in either 🙂

  7. Felix Unger’s worst nightmare! 🙂

  8. I think it’s why our sight begins to fade, those things become unimportant when children, and daily life take over. What you don’t see, you won’t feel the need to clean. Okay, so that’s the lie I tell myself daily. Merry maids won’t work for peanuts! LOL Loved this, made me smile! Great job!

    • Thank you Yolanda, If there were so many other important things to do, like take a walk, see a movie, read a book, and oh, friends. My kitchen would be clean too. Phyllis

  9. Beautifully Written

  10. My kitchen looked perfect for one day, the day after the fitter left. Then we moved everything back in!

  11. It will look like a home. 🙂

  12. I think it might look cozier though,

  13. Dear Phyllis,

    Aye, there’s the rub. Anyone can keep a clean kitchen when no one uses it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  14. I know this kitchen. It’s mine for a few seconds after each housecleaning session. Just seconds, true. Nice story.

  15. Gee with our kids, the room wouldn’t stay clean for a day. This is a wonderful story Phyllis!
    Nan

    • I have to say I’m surprised. I thought this was so-so, but it really hit a nerve. I think everyone wants a clean kitchen, but has trouble keeping it clean.

What do you think?

