Friday Fictioneer: Chandelier

hyde-hall-light

PHOTO PROMPT – © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

“Where did that come from?”

“It’s a birthday present?” Melissa proudly admired it.

“From whom? It’s not your birthday.”

“I bought it. It’s for when it is my birthday.”

“Where did you get the money?”

“I used our credit card.”

Eric stood with his hands on his hips and considered the chandelier. It spread out farther than the width of their round four-person dinning table. It hung so low he’d have to bend his head forward to eat. It was loud, obnoxious and old, and much too large for their one-bedroom apartment.

Finally he said, “I’m cancelling that credit card.”

The End

***

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play.

Click on Short Stories to read more of my stories.

Click on the Blue Box to read other boggers’ Friday Fictioneers’ stories.

***

Pegasus

Click on Moore’s Myths to learn about Pegasus Colony in greater detail.

My science fiction novel, Pegasus Colony, is available on Amazon, Barns & Noble, and iBooks.

19 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer: Chandelier

  1. Good idea to cancel that credit card if his wife doesn’t understand the scale of expense to income…Nicely done story.

  2. Ha, but she already has what she wanted. Although, I assume the right size house just perfect for her new chandelier is on the agenda! 🙂

  3. Spoil sport! It’s her birthday present…so what if he has to live with it! (I know, spoken like a true woman!) 😉

    (By the way, the last line should probably read “I’m cancelling…”) I always have typos in my posts and appreciate it when readers tell me so I can fix them…Hope you don’t mind.

  4. This is why I go shopping with my wife – so she can prevent me buying silly things like this chandelier 🙂
    Cheers
    KT

  5. I recall Jamie Whitham telling when he had his wallet nicked, he didn’t lose as much as when he loaned his credit card to his wife.
    Good piece.

  6. Build a new house, dammit. Give her a break!

  7. Dear Phyllis,

    He might just be a day late and a dollar short. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. I agree with Rochelle – the horse has already bolted on the credit card issue 🙂

  9. Too late… too late.. the damage is already done.

What do you think?

