Mondays Finish the Story: Little Miss Adventurous

Mondays Finish the Story posts a photo and the first line of the story of which I’m to finish.  You’ll find it, it’s in italic.

Click on Short Stories to read more of my stories.

“Delphine always wanted to pilot her father’s plane and when he forgot his keys on her tenth birthday, she knew that taking off would be easy.”

I remember that day clearly. I would have flown it, if I could have reached the pedals. Dad was furious. I thought he was upset over the plane.

“I can buy another plane,” he said. “I can’t make another you.”

Then he sighed. I think he knew what he was in for.

I never did fly his plane.

I did learn to fly over stairs with my skateboard. I flew down the slopes on my snowboard. By the time I was in my twenties, I was drag racing.

I graduated with a masters in astrophysics.

I think he let out a sigh of relief when I got married. He thought I was finally settling down.

He should have known better.

My husband and I got married so we’d be the first married couple on the Mars Colony.

The End

***

