Mondays Finish the Story: The Mango Tree

This is a unique flash fiction challenge where we provide you with a new photo each week, and the first sentence of a story. The sentence in in italic.

Yeah I know. I’m supposed to put the sentence in the beginning of the story, sometimes I forget.

***

Don’t do that. Don’t do this. That’s not right.2015-09-21-c2a9-2015-barbara-w-beacham

All her life she’d been told what to do.

She’d had enough.

It was time to do something so crazy it would drive her family batty.

Family always knows best. Ha.

Her mother never tried to tie her up like that.

“You’re creative,” she said.

“Mom was right! I am creative and it’s high time I express myself accordingly.”

She saw the add in the paper and immediately set out to buy the thing.

“Well,” the old lady said. “I see I have two buyers.” With a twinkle in her eye, she asked, “Which of you wants it most.”

“I do,” she said. “I’ll pay twice what you’re asking for.”

“OH!” The old lady was delighted.

“I’ve got a better idea.” Her competition said. “Let’s spit the original price and we’ll live together.”

He was beautiful and that smile. How could she resist?

Her family was horrified and stopped talking to her.

So she lived in a mango tree and lived happily ever after.

The End

***

You can read more of my stories at Short Stories.

You can read more of Mondays Finish the Story by clicking on the blue frog.

