Sunday Photo Fiction: The Bike

127-10-october-25th-2015

The Bike

“Isn’t that great granddad’s bike?”

“Yap.”

“You’re not gong to ride it are you?”

“Yes I am.”

“What are going to do when you get there?”

“I don’t know. Take a look around. You want to come?”

“Only room for one. If it works I’ll take the next ride.”

“Okay.” Roger tipped his hat to his twin sister Emma. “See you in a bit.”

Roger started down the dirt road and disappeared. He’d not had an accident, he wasn’t kidnapped nor had he become lost. This was a special bike.

Roger started down the road in 2015 and ended up in 1915.

Emma waited for quiet sometime, before she realized something might have happened to Roger. Her fears were confirmed when the bike came rolling back without her brother.

Attached to the seat was a letter.

“Sorry sis, have to stay. I’ve met the most beautiful girl. Plan to marry. Her name is Lily.”

Emma froze.

“That’s right. Lily and Roger Dupuis.” The letter continued. “The young man who came ridding into her life on a bike, that’s me! I’m our great grandfather.”

Mmm, Emma thought. Seems to me, Great Grand-Roger had a twin sister who married an oil tycoon.

Emma jumped on the bike and followed after her brother.

The End

***

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly writing challenge where a photo is used as a prompt for a piece of fiction using around 200 words.

Read more of my stories at Short Stories.

Read more Sunday Fiction by clicking on blue frog.

