Mondays Finish the Story: Vultures

“I watched the vulture looking at me hungrily as I lay on the ground bleeding and injured.”

Vultures. They weren’t the flying kind that cleaned up bloody corps. No, these were the kind that came to pick at the leftovers spoils of my financial ruin.

One does not become a millionaire my being stupid, but one’s empire can crumble because of trusting the wrong people.

I’d become too involved with the grandchildren and let my company slide into fraudulent hands.

Ah, but one does not become a tycoon by being intimidated. A few choice phone calls. A few promises made. Wheeling, dealing, hostel takeovers and the vultures lay in ruins.

I might be a sweet old grandmother, but I’m no damsel in distress.

The End

2015-10-26-c2a9-2015-barbara-w-beacham

Mondays Finish the Story is a unique flash fiction challenge where  a new photo is provided each week, along with the first sentence of a story, which is in italic.

You can read more of my stories at Short Stories.

You can read more of Mondays Finish the Story by clicking on the blue frog.

 

