Sunday Photo Fiction: Never Wrong

132-11-november-29th-2015

“That old man needs to mind his own business,” Constable Benet said.

“When have you known him to be wrong?”

“I’m telling you it’s suicide. Everyone, but him knows it. Drove straight off the cliff.”

“You want to take a change on not investigating farther and being wrong?”

“He’s had his day. Now he’s just an oddball old man.”

“I’m not so sure,” Detective Masters said thoughtfully.

“Sir.”

“Constable, humor me.”

Constable Benet moaned his displeasure.

“If you’re so sure of your opinion, you don’t have to investigate.”

“Thank you, sir.” The constable smiled broadly.

“When you get back to the precinct, tell the captain I’m taking on a new partner.”

“Sir?”

“Yeah, I calling the old man out of retirement,” Masters said. “I’m going to keep investigating. Detective Lewis is never wrong.”

The End

***

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly writing challenge where a photo is used as a prompt for a piece of fiction using around 200 words.

Read more of my stories at Short Stories.

Read more Sunday Fiction by clicking on the Blue Frog.

