Description

In one of my blogs Become a Great Author I expressed my desire to improve my writing skills and blog about it Thursdays. I decided that I’d start my journey with description.

So far I’ve learned description is not just words stating a fact. Nor is it a set of adjectives coldly describing something. Description gives a mental image of what the author is trying to convey to the reader.

I often have a character come close to tears or become overwhelmed by tears.

Instead of saying my character is crying, I should explain reason behind the emotions. Is it lose of hope, fear of the future, or is someone so relieved, tears are an emotional release?

In the novel I’m presently working on, I did a global search for “tears.”

I originally wrote: Tears filled her eyes. To the point, but no perceptive on what’s really happening.

I rewrote the sentence several times until I got: Emotions confused Rona and at this moment, overruled her logic, making her venerable to her illogical nature. 

Much better.

As I’ve been rereading my manuscript, I’ve notice I don’t always write to the point. I often express my character’s emotions, but now I’ll take extra note to their emotions and express their feeling better.

