Friday Fictioneer: Lost

amy-reese

After twenty minutes, I realized she’d escaped.

We were visiting aunt Philomela. The place was new to Jenny and she wanted to explore. I thought she meant the three-story house, or maybe the yard.

She meant the neighborhood.

The police picked up my seven-year-old. She gave them our home address, 200 hundred miles away. They dialed the cell number she gave them. It was in her pocket.

She decided she’d had enough and wanted me. She began screaming, uncompromisingly.

They’d intended to charge me as a neglectful mother.

By the time I showed up, they were happy to hand her over.

The End

***

Friday Fictioneers is a challenge to write a 100 word story from a picture prompt. It’s hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, anyone can play.

Click on Short Stories to read more of my stories.

Click on the Blue Frog to read other bloggers’ Friday Fictioneers’ stories.

