Sunday Photo Fiction: The Appointment

139-01-january-17th-2016I rarely sleep in. I’m usually I’m up by 7 AM, 7:30. The phone woke me at 9:02.

The worried voice asked, “Are you still taking me to the doctor’s?”

“I thought it was on Friday.”

“No, today, Wednesday.”

I was supposed to be at her house at 9 AM! I hurriedly got ready, cleaned the car of snow and took off. The car was barely warmed by the time I got to her house.

I drove in the far left lane keeping speed with the traffic.

Instead of parking the car myself, we used vale parking. I used the hospital’s wheel chair and pushed my friend through the building to the nurse’s station.

We arrived with seven breathless minutes to spear.

The nurse consulted her computer monitor. She smiled sympathetically, and said, “Your appointment’s not until Friday.”

The End

***

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly writing challenge where a photo is used as a prompt for a piece of fiction using around 200 words.

Read more of my stories at Short Stories.

Read more Sunday Fiction by clicking on the Blue Frog.

 

