Creating Better Characters

I’m on the hunt to become a better author. To do that I have to create better characters who have more depth and who are more interesting, so people will care about them and not only want to finish my novel, but want to read more stories about them.

To accomplish my goal, I must step outside of my abilities and learn from others.

I can join a writer’s group with authors who are at least as good and better than me. Constructive comments from others help improve the story.

There are writing workshops and classes from around the world, some of which are now online. 

And there are untold numbers of how-to-write books.

I decided to start my learning journey with the book The Anatomy of Story, by John Truby.

Mr. Truby methodically breaks down the process of storytelling. This book will not be for everyone, but for me, it has been inspirational.

I was so inspired that I had to stop every few pages and either make notes or write whole scenes. By the time I got to the chapter on how to plot a story, mine was already plotted.

There are four points of view in my story. I started with the heroine, Lieutenant Jessica M. Hewett and set her story and plot in place. Once I’m finished writing her story, I plan to reread the book for each point of view.

Finally I’ll combine the four points of view into my novel, Jessica’s Mission, which is the final book in my People of Akiane Trilogy.

This post is an introduction to my journey with The Anatomy of Story, by John Truby. In future posts, I’ll share what I learned from his book.

